Go Back   Sports Central Message Boards > Professional Sports Discussion > Major League Baseball

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2002, 12:57 AM   #1
lmanchur.
Sports Virtuoso
 
lmanchur.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: waterloo.ON.ca
Posts: 12,579
lmanchur. is on a distinguished road
Default Scoring question.

OK -- here's one for all the baseball scoring techies


If an outfielder makes an error and a run scores because of it, it's not counted in the ERA total of the pitcher, right?

...but what if the PITCHER make the error??? Does it get counted on his ERA???


Just a situation I was thinking about -- what'll the box score say on that play?
lmanchur. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2002, 01:00 AM   #2
Wedge231
Fan of Struggling Teams
 
Wedge231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NY
Posts: 1,718
Wedge231 is on a distinguished road
Default

I always thought that runs scoring on an error by a fielder get counted into the ERA. However if the person who reached base on an error later scores, that run isn't added to the earned runs.

I'm not sure on it though...
__________________
-Chris aka Wedge

I'm Back After 5 Months
Wedge231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2002, 05:36 AM   #3
defska17
All-Star Player
 
defska17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vista, California
Posts: 202
defska17 is on a distinguished road
Default

almost positive it doesnt count in the ERA...ERA is earned run average and none of those situations yield an earned run
defska17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2002, 10:29 AM   #4
lmanchur.
Sports Virtuoso
 
lmanchur.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: waterloo.ON.ca
Posts: 12,579
lmanchur. is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks defska17 -- I figured so, but seeing as how the pitcher himself made the error... well... you can see where my question came from.
lmanchur. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2002, 07:53 PM   #5
Brandon
is lurking...
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,196
Brandon is on a distinguished road
Default

And say if that play was made with two outs. Any subsequent run would also be unearned since the inning should have been over.

The reason a pitcher's error doesn't count is this (at least in my opinion): ERA is a measure of how a pitcher pitches. Not how he fields. So just because the pitcher can't field his position doesn't mean he'll suffer because of it in terms of ERA, although it hurts his team in the long run, an unearned run is just the same as an earned one.
Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 12:16 AM   #6
lmanchur.
Sports Virtuoso
 
lmanchur.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: waterloo.ON.ca
Posts: 12,579
lmanchur. is on a distinguished road
Default

Ahhhhhhhhhh.... good enough for me, Brandon, even if you are wrong thanks
lmanchur. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 03:20 AM   #7
Brandon
is lurking...
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,196
Brandon is on a distinguished road
Default

No problem Lee.

Hey Lee, when am I ever wrong.
Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 04:06 AM   #8
defska17
All-Star Player
 
defska17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vista, California
Posts: 202
defska17 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SC-Lee
Thanks defska17 -- I figured so, but seeing as how the pitcher himself made the error... well... you can see where my question came from.
no problem I like Brandons explanation of it as well :lol:
defska17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 09:46 AM   #9
lmanchur.
Sports Virtuoso
 
lmanchur.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: waterloo.ON.ca
Posts: 12,579
lmanchur. is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SC Brandon
No problem Lee.

Hey Lee, when am I ever wrong.
Do you actually want me to answer that?

lmanchur. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 02:38 PM   #10
Brandon
is lurking...
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,196
Brandon is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes
Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 03:26 PM   #11
NickHammy
Sports Virtuoso
 
NickHammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Columbus,Ohio
Posts: 4,236
NickHammy is on a distinguished road
Default

as Lee digs through old threads till the beginning...:el:
__________________
Ohio State Buckeyes
NickHammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 07:07 PM   #12
lmanchur.
Sports Virtuoso
 
lmanchur.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: waterloo.ON.ca
Posts: 12,579
lmanchur. is on a distinguished road
Default

Haha
lmanchur. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 11:03 PM   #13
HibachiDG
Sports Virtuoso
 
HibachiDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4,258
HibachiDG is on a distinguished road
Default

When the ball is in play the pitcher becomes a fielder. ERA isn't assessed to fielders.
HibachiDG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2002, 12:51 AM   #14
Brandon
is lurking...
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,196
Brandon is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Doug Graham
When the ball is in play the pitcher becomes a fielder. ERA isn't assessed to fielders.
Essentially what I said except in much simpler terms. Thank you.
Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2002, 11:16 AM   #15
bama4256
Baseball Fanatic
 
bama4256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Marshalltown, Iowa
Posts: 6,484
bama4256 will become famous soon enough
Default

I think it does if the pitcher makes an error.
__________________
Keith "baseball nut" Thronson
bama4256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:10 AM.