Go Back   Sports Central Message Boards > Community Discussion > The Lounge

Old 09-19-2005, 11:11 PM   #1
buckeyefan78
Happy Land

buckeyefan78 is a jewel in the roughbuckeyefan78 is a jewel in the roughbuckeyefan78 is a jewel in the rough
Default Don't go to college...

I know I piss and moan on here all the time, but after what has transpired in the last month of my life I really need to say something I've always known to be true: college is a farce and if you can avoid going there (I know, hard these days), please do. And I'm a teacher for the love of God!

It wasn't always this bad, but it has gotten so terrible in recent years I must protest. The goverment (in my case the state of Ohio, the University of Akron, Kent State, and Youngstown State) are NOTHING but greedy corporations who operate under the guise of "higher education." It is bad enough tuition goes up 9% a year at these universites for undergrads, but that isn't even half of the story. If you are a teacher in the state of Ohio, you must be continuously working towards your masters. This is under the guise of "smarter teachers," when in reality it is a ploy to make people go back to school and spend $. It also makes you unemployable in many districts because they have to pay you more if you have your masters. A very easy way for the state of Ohio to get teachers to take jobs in the inner-cities as a last resort. It's so sad, you have to laugh at it. I mean, a teacher who has first graders must get a masters to further his/her education? How hard is it to read Curious George and finger paint? I'm not attempting to get a job at NASA. Let's keep that in mind and go on with what happened to me. Here is my deal: